Book Madness 2017

bm

Hello there! Welcome to Book Madness 2017 hosted by the lovely Maggie Ann Martin from maggieannmartin.com or @maggersann on twitter (this is my first year participating, forgive me if I’m not quite sure how this works). Basically, in this post I am going to try my hardest to convince you all on why I think my favorite character is the best and why you should vote for them. Before I begin to pour my heart and soul into this post and introduce my favorite character, I’m going to add a few pieces of information regarding this contest!

First off, you can find the Book Madness 2017 schedule and other information here 🙂

Secondly, you can vote for your favorites (like mine) RIGHT HERE!

Also a reminder! You can vote for up to 5 characters each round AND there are awesome prizes you can enter to win after voting!

Now, without further ado, I introduce you to my champion… RONAN LYNCH FROM THE RAVEN CYCLE!!!!!!

rl

If you haven’t read The Raven Cycle by Maggie Stiefvater yet, you NEED to. I was in the biggest reading slump for the longest time until I came across this series. I fell completely in love with all the characters, but I felt a personal connection with Ronan from the beginning.

Firstly, the name Ronan just sounds completely badass. His sharp facial features, buzzcut, and tattoos only add to this persona. He comes off as a careless troublemaker, but deep down he loves his home and family (especially his little brother Matthew). He’s extremely loyal to his family and friends. Even though he is almost always at odds with his older brother Declan, he never misses church on Sunday for the sake of his younger brother. With his dad gone and his mom unconscious for a good portion of the series, his brothers and friends are all he has, and his devout loyalty to them is truly beautiful. He loves his home so much and is willing to do anything to save The Barns and protect his family.

Ronan is very confrontational yet honest in everything he does, rarely filtering his words. He adores nature and demonstrates his loyalty to his friends throughout the whole series. He defends his friends, beating up Adam’s father after he witnesses him hitting Adam (to which he then studies more for Adam because Adam sacrificed his family to keep him from being arrested). He takes absolutely no shit from anyone and is always ready to fight for his friends and what he believes is right. He isn’t afraid of anything (except his feelings for Adam, but we will get into that a little bit later) and is willing to dive headfirst into the unknown with, and for, his friends. He acts without caring what the consequences are. Ronan is portrayed as stoic character, but on the inside he’s a delicate soul who has suffered through so many hardships (ex. his father dying, his confusing personal feelings, school indifference because he believes education will not aid him in the future, his mother’s comatose state, and his and Declan’s tense relationship). He builds up a strong wall against those who aren’t his friends, but they know how beautiful and complex of a person he really is.

His character development is my favorite and, in my opinion, the best written. His character is just so complex, I can’t even begin to describe how much I love him.

Honestly, if you could see my face right now while writing this I have the biggest smile on my face. Ronan is like a small muffin that you just can’t help but love because he is so troubled you want to do everything in your power to protect him.

Onto the next, his relationship with Adam is the absolute cutest, purest, most adorable ship I’ve ever read about. Throughout the whole series you can pick up on the little hints and details Maggie writes about the progression of Ronan and his feelings towards Adam (I’ll include some excerpts for you at the end). The only thing Ronan is scared of is his feelings for Adam, though he always shows it in the smallest, yet biggest, ways. Secretively, he covers the extra rent costs for him when Aglionby’s tuition raises. Ronan notices the changes in Adam with his deal with Cabeswater and always points out the tiniest details of him because no matter how hard he tries, he can’t stop paying attention to Adam Parrish. Not to mention, the full development of Pynch in The Raven King had me crying for weeks to follow (I still do).

I relate to Ronan’s character so much, for I feel like I can come off as a stoic person and also have troubles coming to terms accepting myself. Ronan is the badass I aspire to be; someone who doesn’t care what people think about him, someone who close friends can rely on for support, someone who knows what they want to do in the world and doesn’t let anyone stop them from achieving it. Ronan has gone through many hardships, but they’ve only shaped him to become the boy he is, a dreamer. A dreamer who will always save his friends and family. A dreamer who has the capacity to dream an entire world from nothing.

I hope I’ve been able to put into context just how much he means to me and how important his character is. Still, words aren’t enough to describe my love for Ronan Lynch.

Here are some of my favorite Ronan quotes/moments:

“I am being perfectly fucking civil.”

“Adam’s response was buried in the sound of the first-story door falling open. Noah slouched in. In a wounded tone, he said, “He threw me out the window!” Ronan’s voice sang out from behind his closed door: “You’re already dead!”

“Wake up, you bastard,” — he said. “You fucker. I can’t believe that you would …”
And he began to cry.”

“Jesus God, Sargent. Do you have stitches on your face? Bad. Ass. Put it here, you asshole.”

“Ronan Lynch lived with every sort of secret.”

And here are my favorite Pynch quotes/moments:

“His feelings for Adam were an oil spill; he’d let them overflow and now there wasn’t a damn place in the ocean that wouldn’t catch fire if he dropped a match.”

“Adam smiled cheerily. Ronan would start wars and burn cities for that true smile, elastic and amiable.”

“As Adam stared at his lap, penitent, he mused that there was something musical about Ronan when he swore, a careful and loving precision to the way he fit the words together, a black-painted poetry.”

“Adam was beginning to realize that he hadn’t known Ronan at all. Or rather, he had known part of him and assumed it was all of him. The scent of Cabeswater, all trees after rain, drifted past Adam, and he realized that while he’d been looking at Ronan, Ronan had been looking at him.”

“‘Unguibus et rostro,’ Adam said. Ronan put Adam’s fingers to his mouth. He was never sleeping again.”

“It was possible that there were two gods in this church.”

“The choice was death or hurting Adam, which wasn’t much of a choice at all.”

“Ronan said, “I’m always straight.”Adam replied “Oh, man, that’s the biggest lie you’ve ever told.”

“Ronan crossed his arms to wait, just looking. At Adam’s fine cheekbones, his furrowed fair eyebrows, his beautiful hands, everything washed out by the furious light. He had memorized the shape of Adam’s hands in particular: the way his thumb jutted awkwardly, boyishly; the roads of the prominent veins; the large knuckles that punctuated his long fingers. In dreams Ronan put them to his mouth.”

I hope you all love Ronan just as I do, and I implore you to vote for him (and me) for this year’s Book Madness!

Leave a Reply

